Return to Headlines

BISD Names Teachers of the Year

Beaumont ISD named its 2017-2018 Teachers of the Year at the Celebration of Excellence Gala held May 12, 2017. Fletcher Elementary School teacher Phyllis Chalk was named 2017-2018 BISD Elementary Division Teacher of the Year and Taylor Career and Technology Center teacher Karen Neild was named the 2017-2018 Secondary Division Teacher of the Year.

Chalk (resized).JPG

Phyllis Chalk of Fletcher Elementary has 31 years of teaching experience. Chalk earned a Bachelor of Science in Education from East Texas Baptist University and a Physical Fitness Specialist from Cooper Institute of Dallas. She is certified in Elementary Self-Contained and Elementary Physical Education, Grades (1-8).








Karen Neild

Karen Neild of the Taylor Career and Technology Center has 28 years of teaching experience. Neild earned a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education and a Master in Education Administration and Criminal Justice from Lamar University. She is certified in Elementary Self Contained, Generic Special Education and Language and/or Learning Disabled, Grades (PK-12), Early Childhood Education-Handicapped, Grades (PK-6), and Kindergarten, Grades (PK-KG).






Dr. John Frossard, Beaumont ISD Superintendent of Schools kicked off the evening by welcoming all attendees to the 3rd annual gala. The invocation was delivered by Dr. Rodney Graves, Pastor of McCabe Roberts Avenue United Methodist Church. Throughout the evening, video vignettes of campus teachers of the year were shown, doing what they do best — teaching and interacting with our students. Music was provided by the Flava Band and BISD Executive Director of Human Resources Lillie Babino served as the mistress of ceremonies. To see photos from the gala, click here.


In January 2017, a ‘Teacher of the Year’ was selected from each BISD campus. Each nominee was chosen by their colleagues and asked to submit an application. They received a lunch kit filled with goodies and a $25 restaurant gift card from Beaumont Emergency Center, a Mary Kay cosmetic, a certificate from Texas State Senator Brandon Creighton and a floral centerpiece. Chalk and Neild each received $1500, an iPad from Computer Dimensions, an iPad cover and $100 spa gift certificate from Beaumont Emergency Center, and a $100 spa gift certificate from the MCM Elegante Hotel and Conference Center.


Chalk and Neild will go on to represent BISD at the regional level. If successful at the regional level, they will compete at the State Texas Teacher of the Year. The Texas Teacher of the Year program has been in existence since 1969 and showcases outstanding educators. This program is facilitated by the Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA). According to TASA, the Texas Teacher of the Year is the highest honor that the State of Texas can bestow upon a teacher.


BISD would like to thank the following sponsors for their partnership:


Star Sponsor - ExxonMobil


Platinum Sponsor - Regina Rogers


Gold Sponsors - Beaumont Enterprise, Karczewski Bradshaw LLP

Silver Sponsors - Blackboard, H-E-B


Bronze Sponsors - CenterPoint Energy, Computer Dimensions, Gateway Mortgage Group, Imagine Learning, Lamar University, PV Rentals


Friends of BISD - Amerigroup, Beaumont Emergency Center, Legacy Community Health, Universal Coin & Bullion, Ltd.



The campus nominees for Teacher of the Year, in alphabetical order by school, are:

  • Katie Rendon of Amelia Elementary
  • Rhonda Maxwell of Bingman Head Start
  • Dana Dickerson of Blanchette Elementary
  • Carmon White of Paul Brown Learning Center
  • Shelley Brian of Caldwood Elementary
  • Melanie Comeaux of Central Medical Magnet High School
  • Ashley Wilbourn of Charlton-Pollard Elementary
  • Janie Holtz of Curtis Elementary
  • Royshundolyn Lincoln of Dishman Elementary
  • Jean Nichols of Early College High School
  • Jada Saveat of Fehl-Price Elementary
  • Phyllis Chalk of Fletcher Elementary
  • Michelle Huynh of Guess Elementary
  • Brittany Robinson of Homer Drive Elementary
  • Tangie Nelson of Jones-Clark Elementary
  • Tamia McAfee of Martin Luther King Jr. Middle School
  • April Prejean of Lucas Pre-K Center
  • Michael Black of Marshall Middle School
  • Tanya Hall of Martin Elementary
  • Jeanette Simmons of Odom Academy
  • Camille Briggs of Clifton J. Ozen Magnet High School
  • Sylvia Edwards of Pathways Learning Center
  • Linda Fulton of Pietzsch-MacArthur Elementary
  • Wendy Eaves of Regina-Howell Elementary
  • Barbara Henry of Smith Middle School
  • Karen Neild of Taylor Career and Technology Center
  • Wynett Rideaux of Vincent Middle School
  • Tiffany Woodall of West Brook High School