Return to Headlines

BISD Educators Win Reaud Excellence in Education Award

The Beaumont Foundation of America recently announced the recipients of the 2018 Reaud Excellence in Education Award. From Beaumont ISD, Angela Derry from Martin Elementary, Michael Black at Marshall Middle School and Tiffany Woodall from West Brook High School were honored at the awards banquet.

Angela Derry Headshot Angela Derry is a 4th grade reading teacher at Martin Elementary. “To me, winning the 2018 Reaud Excellence in Education Award means that others are noticing the difference that I aspire to make in the lives of children,” said Derry. “Education is the one thing that regardless of your current situation opens the door to limitless possibility, and I take pride in being one of the often unmentioned, yet phenomenal teachers who dare to change the world one student at a time.”



Michael Black Michael Black is a 7th grade science teacher at Marshall Middle School. “I'm deeply honored and grateful, especially since there are so many incredible educators which deserve it as much or more than I do,” said Black. “It is refreshing to get affirmation that my efforts are having an impact.  Receiving the award has reinvigorated me to keep my sleeves rolled up and keep at it.”




Tiffany Woodall Headshot Tiffany Woodall teacher Academics for Life (AFL) 2/Special Education at West Brook High School. "Tiffany has a special gift. She is an exemplary teacher that molds minds to become better,” said West Brook AFL teacher Stacey Phillips. “She has helped many general education students want to become just like her; they want to be a special education teacher. That in itself is something to be proud of."  




Since 2009, the foundation has recognized superior teachers whose dedication and leadership inspire both students and fellow educators. The awards provide public acclaim and financial rewards to teachers who are furthering excellence in education throughout Southeast Texas. Teachers are first nominated by their campus committees before winners are selected by the Beaumont Foundation. Each teacher received an award and $10,000 in recognition of his or her exemplary contribution to the lives of their students.

Click here for more information.